Board of Directors

Food AND Medicine has an all-volunteer 15 person Board of Directors. Each board member is elected from and by our membership, and each is involved in at least one of our program areas. Board members serve three-year terms, with no term limits.

Erin Oberson

Erin Oberson, President, of Old Town, is a Registered Nurse at Northern Light Eastern Maine Medical Center, and steward in Maine State Nurses Association (NNU). She is also Vice President of Eastern Maine Labor Council, and is active in issues around worker rights. Erin and her husband have four children. She was elected to the Board in 2019; the Board elected her Vice President in 2020 and President in 2021.

Molly Slotznick

Molly Slotznick, Vice President and Steering Committee of Portland, ME, supports Food AND Medicine’s work to strengthen its organizational structures and processes. Molly works in the Office of MaineCare Services at the Maine Department of Health and Human Services; she has also worked in the areas of food and nutrition insecurity, climate resilience, and international development. Molly joined the Board in 2019; the Board elected her VP in 2021.

Kevin Gregory

Kevin Gregory, Treasurer and Steering Committee, of Millinocket, was a laid-off paper mill worker and is currently a peer support worker for the Katahdin Area. Kevin is also past president of the Firemen and Oilers (SEIU) Katahdin area union local and a School Board member. He has been an active FAM member since 2003 and has served on the Solidarity Harvest Committee for many years. He was first elected to the Board in 2010.

Heinrick Snyder

Heinrick Snyder, Secretary, of Bangor, is an artist, dancer, choreographer and pizza delivery driver. He has been active in FAM since 2010, and has led several projects that combined his creative interests with working for social justice, most notably our Living Labor Mural. He was first elected to the Board in 2012.

Bob Toole

Bob Toole, Steering Committee, Past Board President, of Bucksport, is a Customer Service representative at Emera Maine.  He represents IBEW Local 1837 in the Eastern Maine Labor Council, where he is Recording Secretary; he volunteers his time on many FAM projects and has served on the Solidarity Harvest Committee for many years. He was first elected to the Board in 2008.

Kati Corlew

Dr. Kate Corlew, Past Board President, of Hampden, is an Assistant Professor of Psychology at University of Maine, Augusta. Her expertise is on the psychology of poverty, both on the effects of being poor and how the poor are treated by others. Kati manages a community garden on campus and has organized an on-campus food pantry for students, and is the faculty coordinator for the university’s Office of Civic Engagement. She was elected to the Board in 2017, and the Board elected her President in 2020.

Loren Snow

Loren Snow, Steering Committee, of Surry, is a retired Maine DOT truck driver and retiree Board member of Maine Service Employees Association, SEIU Local 1989. Loren was first introduced to FAM when he received a Solidarity Harvest meal basket, for which he now volunteers annually and serves on the Committee. He has been highly active in FAM as a spokesman for worker rights since 2010, and was first elected to the Board in 2012.

Marc Cryer

Marc Cryer, of Glenburn is the Director of the Bureau of Labor Education at the University of Maine, a department dedicated to providing education, information, and research to workers and labor organizations in Maine. He is a California licensed attorney with a background in public sector labor relations, collective bargaining, and workplace conflict resolution. Marc has been involved with FAM for several years and often speaks about labor issues at FAM events and was elected to the Board in 2018.

Nancy Peckenham

Nancy Peckenham, of Lubec, worked for ten years as a communications director for a labor union then worked as an executive producer for a nationally known cable television news network and founded an online news site. She also spent several years making documentary films and currently runs an online news publication focusing on life as we age. She has served on the Solidarity Harvest Committee for several years, in charge of coordinating with farmers about their crops and making the purchases for the harvest baskets. Nancy joined the Board in 2019.

Sam Le

Samantha Le, of Bangor, grew up in California, and has spent most of her adult life on the East Coast. She is trained as an optometrist. She is one of the leaders of our Civic Engagement Group. She is a Steering Committee member of the Peace & Justice Center of Eastern Maine. Sam grew up watching her recent immigrant parents’ work in the horrible sweatshops of the 80’s and 90’s. Sam joined the Board in 2019.

Sue Hoyt

Susan Hoyt, of Bangor, is a retired social worker. Sue has been very active in FAM’s Food Access Committee, having helped start one of our first collective gardens at her senior housing complex. Sue has spoken at many FAM events and press conferences. She joined the Board in 2020.


Kayla Kalel

Kayla Kalel, of Bangor, is a 2021 graduate of University of Maine, Augusta and single parent. She serves as chapter lead to Young People in Recovery-Brewer and is on the Board of Directors for Health Equity Alliance. She is a birthing doula and serves on the Maine State Breastfeeding Coalition, offering free services to moms in or seeking recovery from substance use disorder. She is passionate about ensuring folks have their basic needs met so that they can become the best version of themselves. Kayla is active in FAM’s Food Access Committee and joined the Board in 2020.

(Pic of Priscilla coming soon)

Priscilla Montcrieffe, of Bangor, ME, is self-employed, specializing in both Ethnic Hairstyling and home repairs. She’s very active in her community and with her family. Priscilla participates in FAM’s Covid Solidarity and Transportation for All programs and was elected to the Board in January 2021.

(Pic of Lucas coming soon)

Lucas Lockhart, of Bangor, ME, manages the educational programming at the Maine Discovery Museum. He is active in our Covid Solidarity program and was elected to the Board in January 2021.

As of May 2021, our Board has one vacancy.